Fashionable Diversity

As I’ve previously posted, Dogs, Rocks and Frocks was a hugely successful event, but on a more personal note I was delighted to have the opportunity to chat with fashion expert, journalist and presenter, Caryn Franklin, who was hosting the fashion show. We spoke about my work as a model with a disability and acceptance of body image without obsessing about surgery. I believe women of all ages, shapes and sizes would find it much easier to accept their body if the media were reflecting more realistic images. Growing up, I loved watching her on the Clothes Show on a Sunday evening (Jeff Banks was great but he was no Caryn!) She is an inspiring woman in the fashion industry and a staunch advocate of diversity in fashion and the media, so you can understand that I’m incredibly chuffed that she mentioned me in her blog…if I used smiley face emoticons I would insert 5 here! (I should have asked for a photo to upload but I’m still too shy for all that!)

http://www.howtolookgood.com/blog/

Please also check out this website for All Walks Beyond the Catwalk which is an initiative founded by Caryn Franklin, Debra Bourne and Erin O’Connor working with influential designers and top industry creatives to celebrate more diversity within the fashion industry. All Walks recognises the power the fashion industry has to communicate positive messages to women and men about their bodies and acknowledges that diversity and the beauty of individuality can make an impact in the wider culture and influence self-esteem and well-being.. Small steps, big ideas.

http://allwalks.org/

About Shannon Murray

I am an actress, broadcaster, writer and lawyer; not really that unusual but I am also paraplegic as a result of an accident as a teenager. This is the place where I ramble on about random stuff.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Body Image, Disability, Events, Fashion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

