Love Your Body

Whilst I was in the nail bar today I was flicking through one of those celebrity tittle tattle magazines and read an interview with a successful young female soap star.

She is a stunning young woman with an amazing looking body, but throughout the interview her body insecurities shone through. She has previously admitted to minor plastic surgery but is obviously still dissatisfied as she made reference to an invisible belly and supposedly large arse.

I don’t want to name her but I can assure you she’s gorgeous and looks tall and slim, totally flat stomach, pert bum and small pert boobs. There is absolutely nothing wrong with her body, physically, she is pretty perfect, which is why her comments made me both sad and annoyed.

So why is she so dissastified? What unattainable idea or perfection is she striving towards? And what affect do her comments have on other girls reading the article? Girls who aspire to be like her are going to be thinking they’re unattractive or overweight till they match her ideals, add this to all the air brushing that graces pages of magazines, what kind of message are we sending to young girls?

It’s a sad reflection of our culture when women with physically perfect bodies are so unhappy with themselves, and women like me who have a physical disability can be happy and think to hell with it I’ll make the best of what I’ve got! It’s not perfect, my legs don’t move and I’ve no muscle tone in my lower body; I’d love to have a toned stomach, a pert bum and if I could move them I’d work out regularly to keep them in shape. I’m not crazy about my overly muscular upper arms (I avoid cap sleeves at all costs!) but I’m so grateful to have arms that I can move, and I love those large muscles for supporting my body, for providing the strength I need to transfer to and from cars, beds, sofas etc.

I’d love for more women to learn to appreciate what they have, you are blessed to have a perfectly functioning beautiful body, embrace it! Stop hating on yourself and to learn to love your body and work on the bits you don’t love with some exercise, because I can promise you, you don’t know what you’ve got till it’s gone.

Sx

ps: Beauty and the Beast on Channel 4 this Wed 2 Feb at 8pm looks to be interesting viewing.

About Shannon Murray

I am an actress, broadcaster, writer and lawyer; not really that unusual but I am also paraplegic as a result of an accident as a teenager. This is the place where I ramble on about random stuff.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Body Image, Disability and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Love Your Body

  1. Barb says:

    Women are so hard on themselves, striving for perfection which we all know is unrealistic. The magazines cater to this lack is self confidence. It makes me angry but I’m a hypocrit as I do it too.

    Great Post!

    Like

    • Thanks for your comment Barb. I’m guilty of hypocrisy too, I still read magazines but because I know how much work goes into creating the “perfection” in the photographs I don’t feel the need to try and live up to it; it’s not possible, I just wish more women realised it too.

      Liking your blog too!

      Like

  2. steverawson says:

    Good post.

    You might be interested in this article by the Guardian feature writer, George Monbiot

    http://www.monbiot.com/archives/2010/10/11/the-values-of-everything/

    Like

    • Thanks Steve, and thanks for the link to George Monbiot, brilliant article. There are too many people who build their social and personal identity on extrinsic values; I know I’ve even done it myself, just trying to break the habit.

      Like

Leave a Reply

